Laundromat Resource Forums Laundromats Insurance

last updated by Juan 2 months, 3 weeks ago
5 voices
6 replies
  • Author
      Ty Stewart
      Participant

I’ve heard good and bad things about the cost of good insurance. What should we be asking for and what are some good companies? I’m in Illinois.

Jordan Berry
        Keymaster

Great question Ty! I don’t know that I’m an expert in good insurance at this point, but I have a few tips for you. 1. I know it depends on if your store is attended or unattended. I have one of each and some insurance companies, particularly the big, well known ones, won’t insure an unattended laundromat. So, it’s often good to look at smaller insurance companies. 2. CLA tends to be expensive and I haven’t heard great things about their service, although I don’t have personal experience with them. 3. I’ve had good luck and heard good things from others who have used smaller insurance companies that specialize in vended businesses. 4. With insurance, as much as with anything else, you get what you pay for. Cheap insurance is great until you need it. Cheaper insurance companies tend to be much more difficult to work with when you need them most.

Laundromat insurance isn’t cheap. At least not yet 😉 Just make sure you build those costs into the business model. Sorry I don’t have any specific recommendations but maybe someone else will. I’ll mention it on the upcoming podcast and see if we can get someone over here to help you out with a more specific answer!

Ty Stewart
          Participant

Thanks for the information. It’s not a ton of resources available in this industry. Thank you for this forum 😁

Inno Berck
            Participant

All financial experts advise to insure your business because you can be left with nothing.

Davia Aero
              Participant